1001 Albums: Red Headed Stranger

#346

Album: Red Headed Stranger

Artist: Willie Nelson

Year: 1975

Length: 33:30

Genre: Country / Outlaw Country

“The red headed stranger had eyes like the thunder
And his lips, they were sad and tight
His little lost love lay asleep on the hillside
And his heart was heavy as night

Don’t cross him, don’t boss him
He’s wild in his sorrow
He’s ridin’ an’ hidin’ his pain
Don’t fight him, don’t spite him
Just wait till tomorrow
Maybe he’ll ride on again”

Red Headed Stranger

I think all of my friends would be very surprised to learn that I actually own this album. It is indeed part of my record collection. Quite the outlier being a country album in a sea of primarily post-punk, new wave goodness. It’s sitting nicely with a Johnny Cash and Marty Robbins record, holding up the country genre on its shoulders in my collection. The thing is, as much as country as a whole has never been a genre I really enjoy, the subgenre of outlaw country has always been one that I do and its become harder for me to find an artist in the subgenre whose music I don’t really enjoy. Willie Nelson is, of course, no exception to that.

The funny thing about me owning this record is that it was a complete blind buy when I bought it. I had never heard it before and the first time I ever listened to it was when it was spinning on my record player at home. I knew of Willie Nelson, of course, and knew of this album, but had just never listened to it. Not sure what exactly compelled me to grab it when I saw it, but I did, and I don’t regret it. There was a part of that thought his big hit “On The Road Again” was on this specific album. I guess, I thought “well I like this song, so I’m sure I’ll like the album”. Imagine my surprise when I found out the song was not on this album. That’s on me for not having done my research or, you know, reading the song list on the record itself. I’m not the only person to make this assumption though. This one time when Cristina was over in the first month of us dating, I had asked her to pick an album at random from my collection for us to listen to and THIS is the album she picked, which is also funny because she, like me, isn’t a country fan either! Why did she pick it? Because she thought “On the Road Again” would be on it. We were clearly meant for each other.

Honestly, I didn’t need that one song to enjoy this album. the album had such a strong premise to begin with that I was hooked regardless. I mean, it’s an album about a fugitive on the run after killing his wife and lover… that’s some pretty compelling stuff right there, especially if told well and Willie, my man Willie, tells it well. There’s a wonderful simplicity to the music throughout that kind of makes you feel like you’re listening to Willie Willie tell these stories around a campfire (which adds to the cowboy imagery of it all). It’s just a Willie and his guitar, telling stories, and there’s nothing more that’s needed.

I always find it funny how my first exposure to Willie Nelson wasn’t even his music but the fact that he’s one of the most famous potheads out there (only rivalled by Snoop Dogg and Cheech and Chong). That’s what I always associated with him, one of the world’s biggest celebrity stoners. Took a long time before I even realized he was a musician and that he made good music. I’ll always love his cameo at the end of Beerfest where he says he’s looking for a team for an international weed smoking competition because Cheech and Chong bailed. Hilarious. That man has charisma that’s for sure.

I don’t smoke weed but Willie definitely makes a compelling spokesperson for it.

Favourite Song: I Couldn’t Believe It Was True

-Bosco

Leave a comment