1001 Albums: Kind of Blue

#21

album_21_original

Artist: Miles Davis

Album: Kind of Blue

Year: 1959

Length: 45:44

Genre: Cool Jazz

 

 

“Serene sounds of some cool ass jazz”

Miles Davis we meet again, you cool son of a bitch. Just when I thought I was rid of jazz, it pulls me back in. I mean sure the last few albums were heavily vocal jazz, but it doesn’t have the same vibe as the instrumental jazz I was experiencing. Look Jazz, I know we had a thing going on and it was great, you really wowed me with a bunch of albums and… yes I must admit this is probably the best you’ve given me. Maybe not my favourite but easily the best.

Ever have an album that you can just listen to? I don’t mean in the way you listen to your favourite song, I mean just put on and have it play and listen to it subconsciously. It’s playing even though you’re not paying attention, but little do you know you are responding to it. You may not be 100% attentive to what’s playing but it’s affecting you in some way without you realising. I’ve talked about Jazz a lot and the effects it can have on you, but this album transcends those heights to a whole new level of musical experience. It’s honestly really difficult to explain but I’ll try to put it in a way that makes sense.

I had a sinus infection for most of the week. In general, listening to music these days was just giving me a headache and making me feel nauseous (mostly due to the sinus infection). I was nervous to keep listening because I really wanted to make sure I give each album the listening and time it deserves. However, I also didn’t want to keep delaying my posts, especially since I’ve been slowing down extensively in the past two weeks. I figured, what the hell, it’s Miles Davis, some more instrumental jazz, I can put it on and just relax to it.

And it was just amazing. It managed to not only make me feel good, but it relaxed me and soothed me and just lay me down and tucked me in. This album is not just music, but an experience. And I’m not speaking horse shit when I say that, it really is. It’s rare that you encounter something that you don’t really need to listen to because it just takes over in it’s own magical way. Doesn’t matter what you’re doing, this album is perfect for any moment where you aren’t feeling good. A good friend of mine said it was perfect headache music and going into it with a sinus infection I can say he was definitely right. Actually, being as it is kind of hard for me to put it into words since Jazz is a hard genre to analyze to begin with, I can just let you guys know what he had to say about it.

I want you all to give a warm welcome to my very first guest writer on the blog and one hell of a funny dude, Graham. I’ll show you what he had to say because he puts it into words way better than I ever could:

The album had a very transcendent feel that was either rare or nonexistent before that point. Before KoB, Miles’s music was in the vein of some of the hard bop that you had heard previously on the list; here, the style has a lot of nuance and the atmosphere it evokes is very impressive for a mere quartet (or quintet or whatever they were at the time). Plus, despite it being a fairly laid back record, it has its share of memorable melodies, So What and Freddie the Freeloader in particular. And the production work is incredible. So spacey and warm.

I like that, spacey and warm, that’s probably the best way to describe the feel of the album. It’s like lying in a warm, comfy bed that you never want to get out of. That moment of sleep where you’re exactly at the right amount of comfort, where you feel like nothing can ever be better than this. That’s what this album feels like when listening to it.

If you’re ever not feeling well, put on this album an let it play for you, it’ll be worth it trust me.

Song of Choice: So What

-Bosco

P.s. I think this is the shortest post I’ve made, but whatever fuck it.

Guest Writer: Graham

Photoshop Credit: Julian Branco

 

 

Leave a Reply

